NW Oregon Labor Council Annual Labor Awards


Northwest Oregon Labor Council honored more than a dozen union members for outstanding contributions to labor and the community June 3 at its 23rd annual appreciation dinner. Money raised through the dinner, raffle, and a silent auction benefit Labor’s Community Service Agency (LCSA), a United Way – supported nonprofit that helps union members and their families when they’re in need.

This year’s Del Ricks Community Service Award, named for the late longtime director of LCSA, went to Columbia Pacific Building Trades executive secretary-treasurer Willy Myers. Myers has spent years crafting project labor agreements that accelerate the entry of women and minorities into the union construction trades.

A heritage award was given posthumously to Laborers Training Center Director Aida Aranda, who died in February.

And a lifetime achievement award went to former IBEW Local 48 Business Manager Ed Barnes, 89, whose record of service to the community and union movement stretches back seven decades.

Other honorees were:

  • Certainteed workers who struck in February
  • OPEIU Local 11 members Tracey Powers, Karyn Morrison, and Cheyenne Russell
  • OSEA Local 6732 member Chelsea Shotts
  • AFT-Oregon president Jaime Rodriguez
  • Bakers Local 364 business rep Cameron Taylor
  • Portland Federation of School Professionals president Michelle Batten
  • Retired former Bakers Local 114 business agent Gene Beaudoin
  • Machinists Lodge 1005 president Aubria Hopes
  • LCSA staff
  • Retired OSEA officer Everice Moro
  • Retired Teamsters Local 223 rep Dave Tully



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read more