At Local 701, a vote of confidence from members


THREE MORE YEARS: Jim Anderson was unopposed for a third three-year term as business manager of Operating Engineers Local 701. The local has experienced steady growth in recent years.

Operating Engineers Local 701 business manager Jim Anderson ran unopposed for re-election this year, the second time in a row. At the union’s newly expanded training center in Canby, he and other officers were sworn in Sept. 8 to new three-year terms by an invited guest, Oregon’s labor commissioner Val Hoyle. Also attending were the union’s international president, James Callahan, and the business manager of Local 612 of Tacoma. 

Local 701 represents about 2,800 heavy equipment operators and crane operators in building and highway construction, as well as about 900 stationary engineers who maintain and operate boilers and other building systems equipment.

Anderson, 60, has been business manager since 2016, when he outpolled an incumbent to win office. The local has grown and prospered since then, adding over 300 new members and expanding its affiliated apprenticeship program. Anderson says the program is now taking in 50 apprentices a year. The union’s joint pension fund is also doing well enough that it was recently able to increase the benefit accrual rate.

If election by acclamation means members are happy with the direction of the union, Anderson credits the 18 union staff he’s responsible for overseeing as business manager.

“It all boils down to my staff,” Anderson told the Labor Press. “I’ve got a great staff.”

Anderson will also be focused on the local’s biggest collective bargaining agreement, which is up for renegotiation this year; it covers members who work for Associated General Contractors and union-signatory crane operators.

Upcoming job prospects remain strong for the local, Anderson says, with numerous large projects in the planning stages. That includes work in the region’s growing renewable energy boom. About 350 members are currently working in wind and solar projects. 

Besides Anderson, the other officers sworn in Sept. 8 are:

President Darren Glebe

Vice President Darrel Hickman

Recording Corresponding Secretary Lonny Land

Treasurer Nate Stokes

Conductor Nolan David Carter

Guard Ken Clair

District I Rep Clark Mattox

District II Rep Larry Moser

District III Rep Ron Preston

District IV Rep Terry Casey

District V Rep Richard Lauderback

District V Rep at Large Dylan McComiskey

Auditors Jeff Blakeley, Melinda Wilson, and Dan Ross, III 

Trustees Peter Ullrey, Loran Ayles, and Christopher Blair 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read more