Richartz reelected to lead Laborers Local 483

Laborers Local 483 members elected a new set of officers and returned Farrell Richartz without opposition to a second full term as business manager and secretary-treasurer. Three other offices were also uncontested in nominations that took place June 29, and four candidates ran for three at-large executive board spots, with members making the choice in mail ballots that were counted July 30. All terms are three years.

With over 1,000 members, Local 483 represents City of Portland workers who maintain roads, sewers and parks and staff City recreation facilities, as well as workers at Oregon Zoo and Metro parks, and maintenance workers at the City of Silverton, the City of Mt. Angel, and airport and marine facilities of the Port of Portland.

Richartz comes out of the maintenance department of the Portland Bureau of Transportation, and has served since 2016 as Local 483 business manager, the one elected office that is also a full-time staff position.

Richartz says recent months have been challenging for members of Local 483. The COVID-19 epidemic led to City recreation center closures and the layoff of over 100 members. And workers have had to adapt to continue working safely. Richartz has been visiting job sites bringing masks and hydration. Members have been meeting online monthly via Zoom, attending in greater numbers than usual, but until now weren’t able to take votes and make decisions because local bylaws require in-person meetings. With the approval of LiUNA International, the local will be allowed to transact official business at online meetings starting with the Aug. 18 meeting.

Complete election results:

  • Business Manager Farrell Richartz (PBOT)
  • President Jamie Doscher (Parks & Recreation)
  • Vice President Andrew Sterling (PBOT)
  • Recording Secretary Ryan Sotomayor (Parks & Recreation)
  • Executive Board Claire Houston (Portland Bureau of Environmental Services); Will Zeigler (Parks & Recreation); and Luis Flores (Parks & Recreation)

Members also elected Ryan Sotomayor and Ben Nelson to join Doscher and Richartz as delegates to the Laborers District Council.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.