Tackett, Petroff re-elected to top posts at Northwest Oregon Labor Council

Bob Tackett has been re-elected to a third term as executive secretary-treasurer of the Northwest Oregon Labor Council. He ran unopposed.

Tackett, 62, is a 41-year member of United Steelworkers Local 330. Prior to becoming a full-time officer of the labor council in 2009, he worked for the Oregon AFL-CIO as its Workforce Investment Act labor liaison.

In other election results, Bob Petroff, 61, a business representative of Machinists District W24, was re-elected to a fifth term as president of what is now the state’s only labor council. He ran unopposed.

Also re-elected without opposition were First Vice-President Jeff Anderson, secretary-treasurer of United Food and Commercial Workers (UFCW) Local 555; and Second Vice President Everice Moro, a retired member of the Oregon School Employees Association (OSEA)-American Federation of Teachers (AFT) Local 6732.

Seven at-large Executive Board members were re-elected by acclamation. They are:

  • Position 1: Sandy Gillis of OSEA-AFT Local 6732, Reynolds Chapter 37.
  • Position 2: Terry Lansing, financial secretary-treasurer of Bakers Local 114.
  • Position 3: Janet Irwin of Multnomah County Employees AFSCME Local 88.
  • Position 4: Sam Gillispie,  business representative of UFCW Local 555.
  • Position 5: Dave Tully, business representative of Teamsters Local 223.
  • Position 6: Will Lukens,  business representative of Machinists District W24.
  • Position 7: Ed Barnes, retired business manager of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 48.

Elected as reading clerks were Vicki Nelson, president of OSEA-AFT Chapter 113; and Ellen Ino, a member of Laborers Municipal Employees Local 483. Mike McLaren of Machinists Lodge 1005 and John Vandermosten, a retired member of IBEW Local 48, were elected sergeants-at arms. And Mike Housley of Machinists Lodge 1005, Joe Esmonde, a union representative of IBEW Local 48, and Amanda Hill of Oregon Federation of Nurses & Health Professionals Local 5017 were elected trustees.

Final nominations were held at the delegates’ meeting Nov. 23. Since there was no opposition, all of the candidates were declared winners. Officers will be sworn in at the Jan. 23 delegates meeting. Terms are for four years.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.