Terry Lansing re-elected to top post at Bakers Local 114


Terry Lansing

Terry Lansing has been re-elected to a third term as financial secretary-treasurer of Portland-based Bakery, Confectionery, Tobacco and Grain Millers (BCTGM) Local 114. He ran unopposed.

Lansing, 61, is a 35-year member of the local, joining in 1976 after taking a job at Williams Bakery. He served as a trustee and on the Executive Board before being hired as an assistant business agent in 1990 by then-secretary-treasurer Noel Johnson. Lansing met Johnson while trying to organize his nonunion employer Smith Baking in Salem.

In 1992 Lansing was elected business agent following the retirement of Don Schoen. He was elected financial secretary-treasurer in 2005, succeeding Laurel Koch, who retired.

Lansing currently is chair of the Oregon Bakers Union Trust and a trustee on the Western Conference of the BCTGM. He’s president of the Northwest Joint Council of the BCTGM, and he sits on the executive boards of the Northwest Oregon Labor Council and Labor’s Community Service Agency.

Also re-elected by acclamation at Local 114 were President Georgene Barragan of Bimbo Bakery/Oroweat; Vice President Darren Hamann of Kroger Clackamas Bakery; Recording Secretary Robert Fenske of Kroger Clackamas Bakery; and Business Agent Shad Clark. Clark was appointed business agent in 2009 to fill the unexpired term of Gene Beaudoin, who retired.

Elected as trustees were Andrew Stern of Bimbo Bakery/Oroweat, along with incumbents Mike Connelly of Rosauer’s Supermarket and Mario Aldaco of Franz Bakery Portland.

Ten members ran for eight seats on the local’s Executive Board. Top vote getters were incumbents Beaudoin; Alejandro Ahumada of Franz Bakery Portland; Brian DeVall of Kroger Clackamas Bakery; Armando Zavala of Bimbo Bakery/Oroweat; Linda Alton of Albertsons; and Randy Roark of Kroger Clackamas Bakery. New to the board are Lisa Fox of Bimbo Bakery/Oroweat and Jeff Singleton of Franz Bakery Springfield.

Mail ballots were counted Dec. 13. All officers and board members will be installed at the next union meeting Jan. 24. All terms are for three years.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read more