In Memoriam

Anne Feeney, 1951-2021

One of labor's best-loved folk singer-songwriters, who performed on countless strike picket lines, died Feb. 3 of COVID-19.

Wally Feist, 1949-2020

A former financial secretary-treasurer and briefly president of Amalgamated Transit Union Local 757, he worked at TriMet from 1977 to 2011.

Sam Dominy, 1945-2020

A union rep for International Woodworkers of America and IAM, he led the Lane County Labor Council and served in the Oregon Legislature.

Brian Severns, 1949-2020

A shipyard worker, he served the Machinists as assistant directing business representative and led the Portland Metal Trades Council.

Sam A. Rutledge, 1936-2020

Rutledge led Woodworkers Local Lodge W12 in Klamath Falls, and was one of the longest serving members of the Oregon AFL-CIO Executive Board.

Gerald ‘Jerry’ R. Lantto, 1935-2020

He was directing business rep for the Machinists Woodworkers regional council and president of the Southwestern Oregon Central Labor Council.

John E. Clatworthy, 1947-2020

Clatworthy worked for the Portland Opera and was president of IATSE Local 28.

George M. Miller, 1935-2020

Miller led Machinists District Council 24 and Northwest Oregon Labor Council, and was a member of the Port of Portland Commission.

Christ George Vokos, 1923-2020

Vokos was active in the Greek community and led Bakers Local 364 as secretary-treasurer from 1969 to 1985.

Jeffrey P. Washburn, 1957-2020

A 41-year member of the Plumbers and Fitters, he led the Cowlitz Wahkiakum Labor Council and the Longview/ Kelso Building Trades Council.

Nancy Milner, 1951-2020

The Bakers union activist and former AWPPW member died after long bout with cancer.

Machinists mourn loss of Dick Schneider

Dick Schneider, a 51-year member of Machinists Local 63 and a former representative of the Machinists' international, died March 17 of cardiac arrest.

Steven Deutsch, 1937-2020

Deutsch was one of the founders of the University of Oregon’s Labor Education and Research Center.

Robert Blanche, 1962-2020

The former president of the Portland local of SAG-AFTRA was best known for playing Sgt. Franco on NBC's Grimm.

Garry Paul Goodwin, 1931-2019

He served union members as a local union president and training coordinator for the Carpenters Union.

Michael H. Carnahan, 1953-2019

He was an active member of IBEW Local 48 and treasurer of the IBEW and United Workers Federal Credit Union.

ATU president Larry Hanley, 1957-2019

Hanley, national president of 200,000-member Amalgamated Transit Union, died suddenly of pulmonary disease May 7 at the age of 62.

Lee Duncan, 1954-2019

A Navy veteran and former business IBEW Local 48 business rep, Duncan founded a motorcycle poker run that raised $465,000 for a children's hospital.

Father Robert Krueger, 1929-2019

Krueger, a Catholic priest who supported workers struggles for justice, was a frequent presence at union rallies and picket lines.

Chuck Moffitt, 1952-2019

Moffitt was an accountant at the City of Portland and a union officer in AFSCME Local 189 and Oregon AFSCME.