Labor champions of SW Washington


Individuals and organizations who went above and beyond the call of duty for the cause of labor in Southwest Washington were honored Feb. 25 at a second annual Southwest Washington Labor Awards dinner.

Hosted jointly by all-volunteer SW Washington Central Labor Council (SWWaCLC) and Cowlitz-Wahkiakum Central Labor Council, the event was held at the union-represented Vancouver Hilton Convention Center and included a raffle and silent auction to benefit Labor’s Community Services Agency. Despite ice and snow remaining from the record snowfall of Feb. 22, about 200 people turned out.

One award was presented jointly by both councils: the “In Solidarity Award.”  It went to Shannon Myers, longtime former president of SWWaCLC—who helped revitalize not just S

WWaCLC but smaller central labor councils around Washington. Going forward, the award will be known as the Shannon Myers In Solidarity Award.

Working People’s Ally of the Year

  • SWWACLC Northwest Labor Press
  • CWCLC Marie Gluesenkamp Perez, newly elected to Congress for Southwest Washington

Central Labor Council Volunteer of the Year

  • SWWACLC Duncan Camacho, a trauma nurse at PeaceHealth Southwest Medical Center and active member of the Washington State Nurses Association 
  • CWCLC IBEW Local 48 general counsel Diana Winther, secretary-treasurer of the CLC

Union Member of the Year

  • SWWACLC Clark College employee Courtney Braddock, a member of Washington Public Employees Association
  • CWCLC Ray Conner, a pipefitter and UA Local 26 officer

Union Leader of the Year

  • SWWACLC IBEW Local 48 business representative and organizer Joe Bond
  • CWCLC Longview Education Association president Jerry Forsman

Union Local of the Year

  • SWWACLC Ridgefield Education Association, for sticking together in a September 2022 strike that won improvements for teachers and students
  • CWCLC Machinists-Woodworkers Lodge W536, for standing up to Weyerhaeuser in a 48-day strike.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read more