Labor Appreciation Night raises $13,000 for community service


Ed Barnes (wearing blue jeans) gets a standing ovation after being announced as the recipient of the Del Ricks Community Service Award. Offering congratulations are Multnomah County Chair Deborah Kafoury and State Treasurer Tobias Read.

The Northwest Oregon Labor Council (NOLC) recognized individuals, organizations, and businesses for their commitment to better the lives of people at work and in their communities at a labor appreciation and recognition night held June 8 in Northeast Portland.

The event also doubles as a fundraiser for Labor’s Community Service Agency (LCSA). More than 300 people attended the event, raising over $13,000.

The top recognition is the Del Ricks Community Service Award in honor of the late Del Ricks, who was LCSA’s executive director for 17 years. The 2019 recipient is Ed Barnes, a retired business manager of IBEW Local 48 and “volunteer extraordinaire.” At age 85, Barnes serves as second vice president of NOLC. He remains involved in politics, community activities, and fundraisers. A veteran of the Korean War, he is now on a mission to raise money for a national memorial in Washington, D.C. “When you think of labor, you think of Ed Barnes,” said NOLC vice president Everice Moro, presenting the award. “His dedication and commitment to labor are a true inspiration to all of those around him.”

The “Heritage Award” was presented posthumously to Lee Duncan, retired from IBEW Local 48. Duncan, who died May 23, was a longtime business rep for the union. In 2003, he co-founded the Unions for Kids motorcycle poker run to raise money for Doernbecher Children’s Hospital. “Lee Duncan was a man who exemplified the very meaning of outstanding and long-lasting accomplishments and contributions to the labor movement,” said local building trades leader Willy Myers presenting the award.

A Lifetime Achievement award went to Tom Chamberlain, president of the Oregon AFL-CIO. Chamberlain is retiring in September after serving 14 years in labor’s top post. The award was presented by U.S. Rep. Earl Blumenauer.

American Medical Response received the Business Award. AMR has contracts with three Teamsters locals in Oregon and SW Washington providing high standards in wages, benefits and working conditions. Randy Lauer, general manager of Oregon operations, was in attendance to accept the award.

Recognition awards went to: Leslie Sloy, Karine Robburts, and Dave Tully of Teamsters Local 223; Joe Clyde, Terry Howard, and Kyle Newell of Amalgamated Transit Union #757; Marcus Swift of American Federation of Teachers-Oregon; Shane Nehls and Neal Hopwood of Iron Workers Local 29; John Kleiboeker of Machinists Lodge 63; Scott Strickland of Operating Engineers Local 701; Diana Hess of Oregon School Employees Local 6732; Christina Daniels of IBEW Local 48; Barbara Byrd, secretary treasurer of the Oregon AFL-CIO; Penny Painter, manager of the Bureau of Labor and Industries-Oregon Department of Transportation Workforce Development Program; Kids’ Chance of Oregon; American Federation of Government Employees Local 1127; The Young Machinists of Lodge 63; and to the Sunshine Division.

Recipients of 2019 Labor Appreciation Night awards.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read more