Marion-Polk-Yamhill labor council elects new officers


Kathy Bonogofski has been elected president of the Marion-Polk-Yamhill Counties Central Labor Council. She succeeds Joe Munger, who did not seek re-election to the unpaid position. The labor council is an umbrella organization of 22 union locals representing more than 9,000 union members.

Bonogofski, a chapter president with Oregon School Employees Association, works at Willamette Educational Service District as a registrar for homeschoolers. Bonogofski previously served on the labor council as vice president.

Munger, a member of Steelworkers Local 8378, was elected vice president.

Other new officers elected were  trustees Jackie Pierce and Dave Cleveland, both retired members of Service Employees International Union (SEIU) Local 503, and Burley Mack of Oregon AFSCME Council 75. They will join incumbents Rosalie Pedroza of SEIU Local 503 and Office and Professional Employees International Union Local (OPEIU) 153, Tim Roark of the American Federation of Government Employees, and Monte Hansen of Steelworkers Local 8378.

Richard Swyers, an officer with AFSCME Local 2067 at the City of Salem, was re-elected secretary-treasurer, and Judy Sugnet, a retired member of SEIU Local 503 and OPEIU Local 153, was re-elected recording secretary.

Terms of office are two years.

Munger and Greg Creal of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 280 will continue their labor council appointments on the board of directors for Job Growers Inc., a regional Workforce Investment Board. Munger also will continue to serve on the General Board and Committee on Political Education of the Oregon AFL-CIO.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read more