A union guide to Washington’s Aug. 4 primary election

Washington’s top-two primary is a winnowing out election: The top two vote getters, regardless of party preference, go on to the November general election. July 27 is the last day to register to vote. Ballots will be mailed July 17 and must be return postmarked by Aug. 4.

Below, candidates are listed in the order you’ll find them on the ballot. Following each name is a list of union endorsers and a link to the campaign web site, if they have one.


Congressional District 3 (Vancouver)

Carolyn Long got 47% of the vote two years ago in her Democratic challenge to Republican incumbent Jaime Herrera Beutler. Turnout will be much greater in this year’s general election, and supporters think she has a good chance of winning. WSLC ElectLong.com



Jay Inslee was once disinvited to speak at the state AFL-CIO convention afterdefying labor to give Boeing a record-breaking no-strings-attached $8.7 billion tax break. But he’s also signed dozens of pro-labor bills expanding collective bargaining, the prevailing wage, and infrastructure investment.   WSLC, AFSCME JayInslee.com

Lieutenant Governor

Denny Heck, a sitting Congressman with a 93% pro-labor voting record, was a late entry into the race. WSLC, AFSCME (dual) DennyHeck.com

Marko Liias is a Washington state senator from Everett who also has a strong pro-labor voting record WSLC, AFSCME (dual) MarkoForWA.com

Secretary of State

Gael Tarleton is a state representative and former commissioner at the Port of Seattle. WSLC, AFSCME, IBEW 48, LiUNA 242, 252, SEIU 775, WEA VoteForGael.org

State Treasurer

Mike Pellicciotti is a state representative and former assistant attorney general. WSLC, IAM, IBEW 77, IBT, ILWU 23, LiUNA 242, 252, UA 669, UBC, UFCW 21, WEA, WNSA ElectMikeP.com

State Auditor

Pat McCarthy is the incumbent state auditor and a former Pierce County executive. WSLC

Attorney General

Bob Ferguson is the incumbent attorney general WSLC, AFSCME ElectBobFerguson.com

Public Lands Commissioner

Hilary Franz WSLC, AFSCME HilaryFranz.com

Superintendent of Public Instruction

Chris Reykdal WSLC, AFSCME


17th Legislative District (Eastside Vancouver)

  • Senate — Daniel Smith  WSLC, AFSCME, IAFF 452, IBEW 48, SEIU 1199NW, WEA SmithForSenate.org
  • House — Tanisha Harris WSLC, WBT, IAFF 452, IBEW 48, LiUNA 335, SEIU 925, 1199NW, UFCW 21, WEA, WSNA  ElectTanisha.com
  • House— Paul Harris AFSCME

18th Legislative District (Clark County)

19th Legislative District (Longview to Aberdeen and West to the coast)

  • Senate— Dean Takko AFSCME, IBEW 48
  • House — Clint Bryson, a 29-year IBEW member and assistant business manager of IBEW Local 76, is a third generation IBEW member and lifelong resident of Montesano, Washington. After taking part in the Washington State Labor Council’s Path to Power candidate training program for union members, he’s running as a Democrat against Republican incumbent Rep. Jim Walsh. AFSCME, IUOE 302, SEIU 925, WSNA, IAM, IW 86, UA 26, IBEW 48, UFCW 21  ElectClintBryson.com
  • House — Brian Blake AFSCME, IAM 751,  IBEW 48, SEIU 1199NW, UFCW21 ElectBrianBlake.com

49th Legislative District (Vancouver)


County Council, District 4

Matt Little is an independent running against Republican Gary Medvigy. He’s a fundraiser for early childhood education, former head of Cascade Forest Conservancy and once served as advisor to U.S. Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan.  SWWACLC, IBEW 48, WEA  MattLittle4ClarkCounty.org


  • Pos. 3 — Raquel Montoya-Lewis WSLC
  • Pos. 4 — Charles Johnson WSLC
  • Pos. 6 — Helen Whitener WSLC
  • Pos. 7 — Debra Stephens WSLC

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.