Building Trades backs Nick Fish, Loretta Smith for City Council

The Columbia Pacific Building Trades Council has endorsed Loretta Smith and Nick Fish for Portland City Council. Smith, a two-term Multnomah County commissioner is running for the seat being vacated by City Commissioner Dan Saltzman. Smith is term limited from running for a third term at Multnomah County. Fish is seeking re-election to a third term on the council.

The May primary race for Saltzman’s seat will be competitive, with four other candidates filed to run. The deadline to file is March 6. If no candidate receives a majority of votes in the May 15, 2018 primary election, the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes will advance to the Nov. 6, 2018 General Election ballot.

For the May primary, CPBCTC also endorsed:

  • Multnomah County: Chair Deborah Kafoury for re-election. Susheela Jayapal  for commissioner in District 2, the seat being vacated by Loretta Smith.
  • Clackamas County: Paul Savas for re-election as Commissioner for Position 2, and Sonya Fischer as Commissioner for Position 5. Pamela White for County clerk.
  • Washington County: Ryan Deckert for County chair.
  • Metro Regional Council: Shirley Craddick for re-election as councilor in District 1.  Lynn Peterson for council president. Peterson is a former Clackamas County commission chair and former director of the Washington Department of Transportation.  Christine Lewis for councilor in District 2, and Dana Carstensen for councilor in District 4. Carstensen is a member of Laborers Local 483 and works for Metro at the Oregon Zoo.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.