This union’s got talent


Sterling K. Brown, star of the NBC TV drama “This is Us,” was voted the year’s top male performer in a TV drama series by his fellow SAG-AFTRA members. Portland-area members weren’t at the Los Angeles ceremony in person, but watched the awards live from a theater in Lake Oswego.

LAKE OSWEGO, Oregon — Portland-area members of SAG-AFTRA gathered Jan. 21 at the Lake Theater to watch their union’s televised award ceremony. Each year, SAG-AFTRA members vote for the most outstanding performances in film and television, with the winners announced at a star-studded Los Angeles event. SAG-AFTRA stands for Screen Actors Guild – American Federation of Television and Radio Artists.

The 2018 winners:


  • Male Lead: Gary Oldman, “Darkest Hour”
  • Female Lead: Frances McDormand, “Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri”
  • Male Supporting Actor: Sam Rockwell, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
  • Female Supporting Actor: Allison Janney, “I, Tonya”
  • Cast: “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”


  • Male Actor in a Movie or Miniseries: Alexander Skarsgard, “Big Little Lies”
  • Female Actor in a Movie or Miniseries: Nicole Kidman, “Big Little Lies”
  • Male Actor in a Drama Series: Sterling K. Brown, “This Is Us”
  • Female Actor in a Drama Series: Claire Foy, “The Crown”
  • Male Actor in a Comedy Series: William H. Macy, “Shameless”
  • Female Actor in a Comedy Series: Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “Veep”
  • Ensemble in a Drama Series: “This Is Us”
  • Ensemble in a Comedy Series: “Veep”
UNION POWER: Portland-area members of SAG-AFTRA.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read more