Some of the individuals and organizations singled out for honors at the Oregon AFL-CIO’s 2015 convention:

Legislator of the Year State rep Paul Holvey (D-Eugene)

Rookie of the Year State rep Rob Nosse (D-Portland)


Labor 2014 (Oregon AFL-CIO electoral effort)

Most volunteer shifts Oregon AFSCME, AFT-Oregon, IATSE Local 28, IBEW Local 48, Iron Workers Local 29, Laborers Local 296, NALC Branch 82, OSEA, UFCW Local 555, United Steelworkers

Outstanding participation Zack Culver of Laborers Local 296

Leadership in the workplace flier program Willy Myers, Columbia-Pacific Building Trades

Leading By Example Award IATSE 28 President Rose Etta Venetucci, for showing up to every event with 10 percent of her members


Union organizing

Largest private sector organizing victory Oregon Nurses Association, at Providence Newberg Medical Center

Largest public sector organizing victory AFSCME, at Douglas County Juvenile Department

Most innovative industry campaign UFCW Local 555 for organizing cannabis workers

Best longterm leverage campaign UNITE HERE’s campaign at the Portland airport HMS Host and World Duty Free

Paul Holvey, legislator of the year

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.