March 2, 2015

Dear Senators and Representatives:

As the leaders of almost 20 million U.S. workers and their families, we share your commitment to strengthening the middle class. To rebuild our economy for America's hardworking families, we ask you to join us in opposition to "fast track" trade promotion authority (also known as TPA).

Fast track trade deals mean fewer jobs, lower wages, and a declining middle class. Fast track has been used since the Nixon Administration to advance deals, like NAFTA, that are sold to the American people as job creation measures. But these deals, written largely by and for the world's largest corporations, don't create jobs: their main purpose isn't even related to trade, it's to enshrine rules that make it easier for firms to invest offshore and increase corporate influence over the global economy.

Fast track is an undemocratic, unaccountable and completely unacceptable way to develop economic policies that affect us all. America needs a new version of trade negotiating authority that brings the process out from behind closed doors and prioritizes making life better for people, instead of just making life easier for corporations. Working people have heard enough broken promises about the benefits of fast track. It's time to stop believing the fairy tale that passing one more fast track trade deal is going to have different results.

If you stand for higher wages, more jobs, and greater opportunities for America's hardworking families, you must oppose fast track.

Sincerely,

Richard L. Trumka

President

Elizabeth H. Shuler

Secretary-Treasurer

Tefere A. Gebre

Executive Vice President

J. David Cox, President Larry Cohen, President **AFGE CWA** Rogelio "Roy" A. Flores Sara Nelson, President National Vice President AFA-CWA **AFGE** Paul Almeida, President Diann Woodard, President DPE AFSA Baldemar Velasquez, President Lee Saunders, President **FLOC AFSCME** Bruce R. Smith, President **GMP** Laura Reyes, Secretary-Treasurer AFSCME Harold A. Schaitberger, President Randi Weingarten, President **IAFF** AFT R. Thomas Buffenbarger, President Lorretta Johnson, Secretary-Treasurer IAM AFT Robert A. Scardelletti, President Timothy Canoll, President TCU-IAM ALPA Matthew Loeb, President Mark Dimondstein, President **IATSE APWU** Newton B. Jones, President Lawrence J. Hanley, President **IBB ATU** Edwin D. Hill, President James Boland, President **IBEW BAC** James P. Hoffa, President David Durkee, President **IBT BCTGM** Gregory J. Junemann, President **IFPTE** Jorge Ramirez, President Chicago Federation of Labor Harold Daggett, President Lori Pelletier ILA **Executive Secretary-Treasurer** Connecticut AFL-CIO Robert McEllrath, President ILWU

Clyde Rivers, Former President

CSEA

James Grogan, President Michael Goodwin, President Insulators **OPEIU** Walter Wise, President Nancy Wohlforth Ironworkers Former Secretary-Treasurer **OPEIU** James Callahan, President **IUOE** Ken Howard, President SAG-AFTRA Kenneth Rigmaiden, President **IUPAT** Mary Kay Henry, President SEIU Terry O'Sullivan, General President LiUNA! Michael Sacco, President SIU John F. Hegarty, National President NPMHU-LIUNA! Joseph J. Nigro, General President **SMART** Ron Ault, President **MTD** Ed Wytkind, President TTD Sean McGarvey, President NABTU Harry Lombardo, President TWU Fredric V. Rolando, President **NALC** William P. Hite, General President UA Paul Rinaldi, President NATCA Dennis D. Williams, President **UAW** Bhairavi Desai, Executive Director **NTWA** Cindy Estrada, Vice President **UAW** Lily Eskelsen Garcia, President NEA Douglas J. McCarron, President **UBC** DeMaurice Smith, Executive Director NFLPA Marc Perrone, President **UFCW** Rose Ann DeMoro, Executive Director NNU Stuart Appelbaum, President **RWDSU** Patrick D. Finley, President **OPCMIA** Cecil Roberts, President **UMWA**

D. Taylor, President UNITE HERE!

Leo W. Gerard, President USW

Fred Redmond, Vice President USW

D. Michael Langford, National President UWUA