December 18, 2009 Volume 110 Number 24

Cook elected president of Letter Carriers Branch 82

Jim Cook has been elected president of the National Association of Letter Carriers Branch 82. He defeated Jim Baxter by a vote of 460-442 in balloting counted Dec. 7.

Current President L.C. Hansen did not seek re-election to the full-time post and is retiring.

Cook served as Branch 82 president from 1988 to 1993, and from 1996 to 2001. In 1994 he ran unsuccessfully for safety director of the national union, and in 1999 he was a candidate for president of the Northwest Oregon Labor Council.

Cook stepped down as president of Branch 82 to give himself greater freedom to be an activist for labor rights and other causes. He returned to his old carrier route, while remaining active as chair of the labor council’s Labor History Committee, the Pacific Northwest Labor History Association, and in General Strike, a band that sings labor songs at picnics, picket lines and rallies. He retired from the U.S. Postal Service in 2007.

Joining Cook as top officers of NALC Branch 82 are Kevin Card, secretary-treasurer, and Jerry Fitzsimmons, vice president.

Two-year terms begin Jan. 1, 2010.

Home | About

© Oregon Labor Press Publishing Co. Inc.