June 6, 2008 Volume 109 Number 11

Building Trades Council’s primary endorsements get mixed results

Nine of 12 candidates endorsed by the Columbia Pacific Building and Construction Trades Council in the Oregon primary were successful May 20.

At the City of Portland, the building trades backed Mayor-elect Sam Adams, Commissioner Randy Leonard, and Nick Fish. Leonard is an incumbent and Fish was running in a special election for a seat vacated by Erik Sten.

In Multnomah County, Deborah Kafoury and Judy Shiprack were the top vote-getters in their respective races. Kafoury received 87 percent of the vote and will take office in January 2009. Shiprack garnered 37 percent of the vote and will face runnerup Mike Delman (18 percent) in November.

In Clackamas County, Craig Rob-erts was re-elected sheriff while Lynn Peterson and Martha Schrader were re-elected easily to the county commission. All were endorsed by the CPBCTC. Trent Tidwell, an Oregon City commissioner, lost in his bid for a seat on the newly expanded Clackamas County Board of Commissioners. He finished fourth in a seven-person race.

In Clatsop County, CPBCTC- endorsed Commission Chairwoman Patricia Roberts received 41 percent of the vote to finish second behind Jim Scheller (46 percent). Because there was a third candidate in the race, the two will square off again this fall. Scheller was endorsed by AFSCME Local 2746.

In District 4, where the seat was open, Dirk Rohne defeated endorsed candidate Cary Johnson by a margin of 62-38 percent.

In Columbia County, CPBCTC-backed incumbent Joe Corsiglia lost to challenger Earl Fisher 5,189 to 3,014 in the Democratic primary. Fisher had endorsements from United Food and Commercial Workers Local 555, Teamsters, Oregon School Employees Association. and IBEW Local 48.

Fisher will take on Republican Warren Nakkela in November.

CPBCTC issued an early endorsement for Columbia County Commissioner Tony Hyde. The Republican incumbent will face Democrat Pat Zimmerman in November. Neither candidate was challenged in the primary.


Home | About

© Oregon Labor Press Publishing Co. Inc.