December 7, 2007 Volume 108 Number 23

Vancouver IBEW member named to Transportation Commission

Phillip Parker, a longtime member of Electrical Workers Local 48, has been appointed to the Washington Transportation Commission by Gov. Chris Gregoire.

The commission is composed of seven citizen members appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate. Commissioners work with the Washington State Department of Transportation and elected officials to define the state’s transportation plan, transportation investment plan and transportation policy.

Parker, 61, of Vancouver, succeeds Ed Barnes, a retired member and business manager of Local 48, who served on the commission for the past 12 years. Commissioners can serve only two terms.

Parker was appointed Nov. 16. His term is for six years.

In addition to his work as an electrician, Parker is the chairperson of the Labor Roundtable of Southwest Washington and a member of the executive board of the Southwest Washington Workforce Development Council. He is a member of the Tech Prep Advisory Committee for Clark College, the Columbia River Economic Development Council and the Greater Vancouver Chamber of Commerce.

He serves on the Clark County Public Facilities District Board and is a member of the Washington State Electrical Board.

Home | About

© Oregon Labor Press Publishing Co. Inc.