IBEW 125 elects new business manager

Travis Eri was elected business manager/financial secretary of Portland-based Electrical Workers Local 125, defeating Gary W. Clark 664 to 476 in balloting counted June 28.

Both are business representatives of the union. Eri succeeds Bill Miller, who retired.

As a business representative, Eri covered Clatskanie and Tillamook public utility districts, construction, flaggers and tree trimmers. Clark is out of Pacific Power and Light (PP&L). He represented that utility, along with the Canby Utility and TransAlta Centralia Generation.

In a three-man race for president, no one received a majority 50 percent plus one of the vote, so a run-off will be held between Larry Browning of Portland General Electric (PGE) and Walt Banker of the Bonneville Power Administration (BPA). Browning captured 474 votes to Banker’s 386.

The third man in the race was David Covington of PGE. He received 190 votes.

Ballots in the runoff election will be counted July 22.

In the race for vice president, Paul Dietrich of PP&L defeated Mike Pyatt of PGE 564 to 473.

Douglas Shaffer of PGE was elected treasurer and Raymond Cowell of PP&L was elected recording secretary. Both ran unopposed.

Elected to Local 125’s Executive Board were K.T. Anderson of BPA, Don McCleery (construction), Jim Sweet of PGE, and Patrick Winter of PP&L. The four were the top voter-getters in an 11-person race.

Elected to the Examining Board were Ronald Derting and Donald Rose (construction), Lee Cole of PP&L, Anthony Jacobs of BPA and William Young of PGE. The five were the top vote-getters in a field of 12 candidates.

Home | About

© Oregon Labor Press Publishing Co. Inc.