CWA’s Rosenbaum elected president of the National Labor Caucus of State Legislators

Washington, D.C. — Oregon State Representative Diane Rosenbaum is the new president of the National Labor Caucus of State Legislators (NLC), a bipartisan organization formed in 2001 to provide union member and pro-worker legislators with an opportunity to share ideas and develop a common legislative agenda. Over 450 elected officials from all regions of the country are union members.

“I am looking forward to leading the National Labor Caucus, and to working with other state legislators around the country who are committed to fighting for working families by stopping the export of American jobs, expanding access to quality, affordable health care, and restoring the freedom to form a union,” said Rosenbaum, a 24-year member of Portland-based Communications Workers of America Local 7901.

Rosenbaum represents District 42 in Southeast Portland. She serves as assistant House Democratic leader, and has been vice chair of the Business, Labor & Consumer Affairs Committee since 2001. She led two successful campaigns to raise Oregon’s minimum wage, working with the Oregon AFL-CIO to add an annual cost-of-living increase in 2002.

“We are teachers and nurses and firefighters, as well as elected officials. We stand up for workers because we understand the issues from our own experience,” Rosenbaum said, speaking to over 1,000 labor delegates at the Democratic Convention in Boston.

Senator Spencer Coggs, a member of the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees from Wisconsin, was elected vice president.

The work of the National Labor Caucus is supported by the AFL-CIO and its affiliates, who are committed to increasing the number of public officials concerned about the issues people face at home and at work.

Through the Target 5000 program, the federation has worked to elect pro-worker candidates and actively assist union members running for public office. Nearly 600 union members ran for office in 1998; more than 800 ran for office in 2000. Today, more than 2,500 union members hold elected office.

Home | About

© Oregon Labor Press Publishing Co. Inc.