UA Local 290’s Endicott appointed to SAIF board

SALEM — John Endicott, business manager of Plumbers and Fitters Local 290, has been appointed by Governor Ted Kulongoski to the SAIF board of directors. SAIF is the state-owned workers’ compensation insurance carrier.

His appointment is effective Nov. 22, pending confirmation by the State Senate on Nov. 18.

Appointed at the same time was Matt Hennessee, chief executive officer of Quiktrak Inc., and chair of the Portland Development Commission. He served as the director of the State of Oregon Workers’ Compensation Division from 1988 to 1990.

Endicott has worked in the construction industry for 30 years and has served as business manager of Local 290 for the past four years. He also serves as the vice chair for the Oregon Boiler Board of Rules.

“Matt and John each bring the experience and expertise necessary to ensure that SAIF is accountable to the public and responsive to Oregon employers and injured workers,” Kulongoski said in making the appointments. “Matt’s combination of public and private sector experience, his history as a small-business owner and his reputation for integrity and leadership will be an asset to the board. John brings over three decades of experience in the construction industry and will provide an excellent perspective on the needs of injured workers.”

The SAIF board is required by law to have two public members and three members who are insured by SAIF.

Hennessee will fill one of the three SAIF-insured spots on the board and Endicott will fill one of the public member positions.

Prior to the appointments, there were four vacancies on the SAIF board: Two public member vacancies and two SAIF-insured member vacancies. Board members Matt Chapman, Felicia Trader and Jon Egge all resigned from the board effective, Nov. 11. There is also an existing vacancy on the board that was created when former board member Ken Allen, executive director of the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees Oregon Council 75, resigned in August.

John Anhorn, who has served on the SAIF board since Feb. 1, 2002, is the only holdover member currently serving on the board.

Kulongoski plans to name the final two members and submit their nominations in January.

Home | About

© Oregon Labor Press Publishing Co. Inc.